Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

book review

Well, well Ms Kelleher, it seems somebody is well and truly stepping up to the plate so to speak:-) Casey Kelleher started off by self-publishing her first three books which if you haven’t read I would highly recommend. I was chuffed when I heard she had signed a book deal with Amazon’s Thomas and Mercer Imprint. I was even more chuffed when the lady herself let me get my hands on an early edition. I have to be honest though, I was nervous. What if her new publishers had suggested changes in writing style or something and I didn’t like it? As a lot of authors know, getting an early edition doesn’t sway my opinion. If I don’t like it, I don’t like it and will say so. However, Casey has stuck two fingers up at me by writing a blinding book that I couldn’t put down. Clearly now she is a published author she feels she has to up her game, and up her game she did.

I have to admit when I started the book I wasn’t that engaged and it took 3 or 4 chapters to get into it. However, once past that point it just got better and better. Harry Woods is a bit of a face along with his right hand man Raymond. Harry’s children are his life and as adults now they all feature heavily in this book. Sadly, this review is very hard to write as if I put too much content in, it will spoil the storyline. Part of the attraction of this book was that there were characters I wasn’t sure about. Why were they in the book, and what part did they play. Thankfully all is revealed as the story progresses. Each time I thought I’d heard it all, another secret is revealed. One particular character Casey managed to write about got right under my skin and that was Christopher. Without revealing too much, she managed to create a one man monster and the writing conveyed that pretty well. I also liked that in addition to the main storyline, there was a less obvious thread that’s revealed even more toward the end.

I’ve read all of Casey’s books and always thought they were brilliant, albeit one has never grabbed me enough to give it full marks. This one certainly did that and it seems Casey is firmly embedding herself in the list of ‘must read’ female British Crime Authors. Many of her readers follow her on Facebook, and Twitter and in a weird way we are all rooting for the likes of Casey to get herself on the platform of recognised authors. It’s great to see British female authors finally get the book deals they deserve, and (without sounding ridiculous) I feel very proud of you Ms Kelleher! CAN’T WAIT for the next book! Your fans will be very pleased

P.S Thomas and Mercer, you would be VERY silly to let this lady go!

bestcrime

