Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve just had the most amazing five days in New York. Christmas shopping with my kids in all the big stores (I had a bit of a love affair with Macy’s), watching the Knicks play, paying my respects at the 911 memorial, and being generally followed around by my royal stalkers Kate and William on their visit 😉

It was truly magical, and on my last day, things went just a little bit crazy. So I thought i’d share my news with you all.

I woke up to an email from Thomas and Mercer, my publishers… “Have you seen this article in The Bookseller, congratulations… ”

the bookseller

Ebook retailer Kobo collected data between January and November 2014 from more than 21m users, in countries including Canada, the US, the UK, France, Italy and the Netherlands, Kobo found that its most completed book of 2014 in the UK was not a Man Booker or Baileys prize winner. Instead, readers were most keen to finish MY BOOK!! Self-published thriller Rotten to the Core, which as they went on to add, doesn’t even feature on the overall bestseller list.

“Rotten to The Core by Casey Kelleher was the most completed book in the UK, with 83% of people reading it cover to cover,” said Kobo, “whereas the number one bestselling ebook in the UK, One Cold Night by Katia Lief [also a thriller] was only completed by 69% of those who read it.”

Here are the official lists…

Kobo’s UK Bestseller List
1.One Cold Night – Katia Lief
2. Gone Again – Doug Johnstone
3. Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn
4. The Fault in Our Stars – John Green
5. My Sister’s Keeper – Bill Benners
6. The Husband’s Secret – Liane Moriarty
7. The Cuckoo’s Calling – Robert Galbraith
8. Her Last Letter – Nancy C. Johnson
9. Twelve Years a Slave – Solomon Northup
10. Bloody Valentine – James Patterson

Kobo’s most completed books of 2014
1. Rotten to the Core – Casey Kelleher
2. The Tycoon’s Vacation – Melody Anne
3. The Traitor – Kimberley Chambers
4. Concealed in Death – JD Robb
5. Wrongful Death – Lynda La Plante
6. All Revved Up – Sylvia Day
7. Present Danger – Stella Rimington
8. The Empty Cradle – Rosie Goodwin
9. The Witness – Nora Roberts
10. The Promise (Fallen Star Series, Book 4) – Jessica Sorensen

Wow!!! And then shit got real!!! The Guardian picked up the article and ran a piece on it, followed by The Telegraph, and then Entertainment Weekly.

the guardian entertainmentweeklytelegraph

The Guardian: http://goo.gl/qT8P1FThe

Telegraph: http://goo.gl/7QnVr1

Entertainment Weekly: http://goo.gl/gtysm6

My phone was going crazy. Mark Lefebvre, Kobo’s Director contacted me personally to congratulate me and the BBC asked me to do an interview. I spent my last day in New York with my head in the clouds somewhere just above the Rockerfella centre. 

rocker

Sometimes as an author, we do wonder how well our books really do with readers. We can all see the sales figures, and the chart positions, but what do readers think when they read our books? Genuine feedback from readers is all authors really care about. Why? Because they are the people we are writing for. A fellow author said to me today that having your book hold the readers attention really is the best writing achievement of all, and he is right. It really is!

I’m back in the Uk now, still floating up in the clouds, only these ones are a bit grey and not half as magical! A million thank you’s to everyone who bought my books but more importantly thank you for reading them, and for leaving me a review.

Casey x

